Baseball Egg

Baseball for Egg Heads

Players who won the World Series with the Red Sox and Yankees

By Dan Holmes    July 26, 2012
Babe Ruth tries to hide from his enemies.

Ruth, Schang, Scott, and Damon are the only players who were regular position players for both the New York Yankees and Boston Red Sox when they won a world title. The others were either pitchers or utility players.

Only Ruth and Pennock won more than one ring with both the Red Sox and Yankees.

Ruth and Pennock are in the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Babe Ruth (1915, 1916, 1918, 1923, 1927, 1928, 1932)
Joe Bush (1918, 1923)
Carl Mays (1915, 1916, 1918, 1923)
Sam Jones (1916, 1918, 1923)
Herb Pennock (1915, 1916, 1923, 1927, 1928, 1932)
Wally Schang (1918, 1923)
Everett Scott (1915, 1916, 1918, 1923)
Mike McNally (1915, 1916, 1923)
Ramiro Mendoza (1998, 1999, 2000, 2004)
Johnny Damon (2004, 2009)
Eric Hinske (2007, 2009)

About the Author

Dan Holmes is an author and baseball historian. He previously worked for the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum and Major League Baseball. He once defeated George Brett in Texas Hold Em poker and faced Phil Niekro's knuckleball. He has two daughters and he writes regularly about baseball and many other topics.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *