Baseball History & Player Rankings

Steve Garvey, Davey Lopes, Bill Russell, and Ron Cey of the Los Angeles Dodgers.

There’s a belief among baseball fans that players don’t stay with one time any more, not like they used to. Actually, ballplayers have always bounced around, and continuity is a rare thing in the sport.

The quartets below are the exception. These 15 infields are the longest-running in the history of baseball. These are the only infields that spent as many as four (consecutive) years together.

To be included in this chart all four players had to be the primary players at one of the infield positions.

1973-1981Dodgers9Steve GarveyDavey LopesRon CeyBill Russell
1965-1970Cubs6Ernie BanksGlenn BeckertRon SantoDon Kessinger
1980-1984Braves5Chris ChamblissGlenn HubbardBob HornerRafael Ramirez
1948-1952Dodgers5Gil HodgesJackie RobinsonBilly CoxPee Wee Reese
1999-2003Marlins5Derrek LeeLuis CastilloMike LowellAlex Gonzalez
1933-1937Tigers5Hank GreenbergCharlie GehringerMarv OwenBilly Rogell
1906-1910Cubs5Frank ChanceJohnny EversHarry SteinfeldtJoe Tinker
1968-1972Orioles5Boog PowellDavey JohnsonBrooks RobinsonMark Belanger
1902-1905Athletics4Harry DavisDanny MurphyLave CrossMonte Cross
2009-2012Yankees4Mark TeixeiraRobinson CanoAlex RodriguezDerek Jeter
1911-1914Athletics4Stuffy McInnisEddie CollinsHome Run BakerJack Barry
1912-1915Senators4Chick GandilRay MorganEddie FosterGeorge McBride
2001-2004Twins4Doug MientkiewiczLuis RivasCorey KoskieCristian Guzman
1980-1983Royals4Willie AikensFrank WhiteGeorge BrettU.L. Washington
1959-1962Pirates4Dick StuartBill MazeroskiDon HoakDick Groat

The only long-running infield with as many as three Hall of Famers were the Cubs, with first baseman Frank Chance, second baseman Johnny Evers, and shortstop Joe Tinker.

Most long-running infields have at least one Hall of Famer, but the top-rated Dodgers are distinguished in that none of their members have been elected. The 1981 Dodgers remain one of the few teams in history to win a title without a Hall of Fame player on the roster.

Most Successful Long-Running Infields in Baseball History

Of the infields on our list, eight of them won at least one World Series title. They are:

  • 1907, 1908 Cubs
  • 1911, 1913 A’s
  • 1935 Tigers
  • 1960 Pirates
  • 1970 Orioles
  • 1981 Dodgers
  • 2003 Marlins
  • 2009 Yankees

The amazing quartet of Steve Garvey, Davey Lopes, Bill Russell, and Ron Cey, helped the Dodgers to four pennants in their nine seasons as a starting group, culminating in their title in 1981 over the rival Yankees.

The 1906-1910 Cubs, led by first baseman/manager Frank Chance and their talented infield, won three pennants. The 1968-1972 Orioles won three pennants.