Why are they called the New York Mets?

share on:

When the franchise entered the National League for the 1962 season, team owners asked fans to select from among ten names they had chosen. The ten names were:

  • Avengers
  • Bees
  • Burros
  • Continentals
  • Jets
  • Mets
  • NYBS
  • Rebels
  • Skyliners
  • Skyscrapers.

Mets (which is short for Metropolitans) won rather easily, with two other names getting write-in votes: Empires and Islanders. Several of the rejected names were later selected by other pro teams (Islanders and Jets, for example).

share on:
Dan Holmes

Dan Holmes

Dan Holmes is the author of three books about baseball, including Ty Cobb: A Biography. He previously worked for the National Baseball Hall of Fame, and Major League Baseball Advanced Media. He lives in Michigan where he writes, runs, and enjoys a good orange soda now and again.
0 0 votes
Score this Baseball Egg article
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments