David Ortiz Elected to Baseball Hall of Fame

share on:

Former Boston Red Sox star designated hitter David Ortiz, who had arguably the greatest final season in baseball history by a position player, has been elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Ortiz becomes the fifth player who was primarily a designated hitter to be elected. The others are Harold Baines, Edgar Martinez, Paul Molitor, and Frank Thomas. Ortiz saw the most action as a specialist however: he’s the only man in MLB history with as many as 2,000 games, 300 home runs, and 2,000 hits as a DH.

The election of Ortiz stands in stark contrast with the fates of Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, and Alex Rodriguez, who have not been elected due to their association with drug dealers and illegal performance-enhancing drugs. Ortiz has also been implicated with PEDs, but in a much different way. He’s also denied any wrongdoing.

Ortiz, who was known affectionately as “Big Papi,” was named in a 2009 New York Times article as having tested positive for a banned substance in 2003. At that time, MLB was performing anonymous testing for PEDs to determine if formal testing was necessary. However, Ortiz never failed a formal PED test from MLB, and he has loudly claimed his innocence.

The election of Ortiz gives the 2013 World Series champion Red Sox their first Hall of Famer. Ortiz also won titles with Boston in 2004 and 2007. He was known for his post-season clutch ability: he hit .455 with a .795 slugging percentage in 14 World Series games.

Ortiz will be inducted in Cooperstown in July along with the six men who were elected last December by the Hall of Fame’s Eras Committee process: Bud Fowler, Gil Hodges, Jim Kaat, Minnie Miñoso, Tony Oliva, and Buck O’Neil.

Also: Curt Schilling Gets His Wish >

2022 Baseball Hall of Fame Election Results

David Ortiz1st30777.9
Barry Bonds10th26066.0
Roger Clemens10th25765.2
Scott Rolen5th24963.2
Curt Schilling10th23158.6
Todd Helton4th20552.0
Billy Wagner7th20151.0
Andrew Jones5th16341.1
Gary Sheffield8th16040.6
Alex Rodriguez1st13534.3
Jeff Kent9th12932.7
Manny Ramirez6th11428.9
Omar Vizquel5th9423.9
Sammy Sosa10th7318.5
Andy Pettitte4th4210.7
Jimmy Rollins1st379.4
Bobby Abreu3rd348.6
Mark Buehrle2nd235.8
Torri Hunter2nd215.3
Joe Nathan1st174.3
Tim Hudson2nd123.0
Tim Lincecum1st92.3
Ryan Howard1st82.0
Mark Teixeira1st61.5
Jonathan Papelbon1st51.3
Justin Morneau1st51.3
Prince Fielder1st20.5
A.J. Pierzynski1st20.5
Carl Crawford1st00.0
Jake Peavy1st00.0
share on:
Dan Holmes

Dan Holmes

Dan Holmes is the author of three books about baseball, including Ty Cobb: A Biography. He previously worked for the National Baseball Hall of Fame, and Major League Baseball Advanced Media. He lives in Michigan where he writes, runs, and enjoys a good orange soda now and again.
0 0 votes
Score this Baseball Egg article
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments